What is the DELF Prim?

The DELF Prim is an official diploma awarded by the French Ministry of Education to certify the proficiency in French as a Foreign Language of children ages 8 to 11. DELF Prim is composed of individual certificates and is divided into three levels:  A1.1,  A1 and  A2, corresponding to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).

What does DELF Prim consist of?

The exam topics are made to suit the age group’s  immediate environment (family, personal details, interests, friends). The following linguistic skills will be assessed:

• Listening Comprehension
• Reading Comprehension
• Written Expression
• Oral Expression/Interaction Each candidate needs to obtain at least 50 points out of 100 in all four exam skills mentioned above to earn a diploma.

The DELF Prim is only administered within schools.  Please contact your child’s school for more detail and to see whether they are administering the DELF Prim.